Home > topic of the week > Topic of the Week, Week 12

Topic of the Week, Week 12

I listened to April 5th’s For Immediate Release broadcast, and after listening to an unholy stream of sponsor messages, the majority of the podcast focused around the release of the Apple Ipad, which, surprisingly, I have heard little about since its North American release Saturday.  (More surprising was the fact that I saw a student with one just today!)

I hate the Apple/Macintosh, whatever their name is, company, and a comment brought up in FIR’s podcast caught my attention.  Apple doesn’t have to market their products, the “fanboys” as they call Apple devotees, do all the work, and this is both a powerful and true statement.  As soon as Apple announces anything, people start buzzing about it.  Another comment made is how Apple’s shares gained a huge profit in the mere anticipation of the Ipad then it has in its actual release.

Good news is there are supposedly over a dozen similar items coming out by the fall, which means, as with all Apple “innovations”, far superior alternatives from better companies on the horizon.

Categories: topic of the week
  1. April 7, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Haha, I just found out about the Ipad the other day in my advertising class. To be honest I am kind of scared of it. I feel like technology will one day completely wipe out our reliance on actual technology fieldworkers. It is crazy how much there name is out ther and I have yet to see a commercial…and I watch way too much TV!

  2. April 14, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I am not a Mac/ Apple person because I grew up with PC’s and I like how they work. But ever since I’ve been in Florida everyone has Macs and now the Ipad it’s crazy! If I would have listened to the podcast I would have been really turned off by all of it, that’s my honest opinion; but I recently was able to talk to someone who owns an Ipad and I have to say…I like them. It has a lot of great stuff on it and I can see why people have them. However, I will say the hype behind all the gadgets seems a little ridiculous to me, there are so many ads out there promoting all these products it’s no wonder why so many people have them and want them.

  3. April 19, 2010 at 8:39 am

    I agree that everyone is talking about Apple and all of the new technology that they are always coming out with. But what is wrong with that? The way that I see it is that Apple has a great product, and people get hooked on their products, because they are top of the line, and they are good quality. Yes, I think that some people go overboard and have every new thing that Apple comes out with. However, I don’t personally see a problem with people being the advertisement for a company. People are not the only advertisement that Apple has, however, if they were, that would be amazing, and I think that would mean that they have a product that is worth talking about, and is worth buying.

  1. April 7, 2010 at 1:44 pm
  2. April 19, 2010 at 8:52 am
  3. April 19, 2010 at 2:13 pm
  4. April 26, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

