Home > PR Connection > Don’t know it? Topeka it.

Don’t know it? Topeka it.

Google

Topeka became Google, now Google becomes Topeka for April Fools.

Google announced today, April 1st, that they would be changing their name officially to “Topeka” in order to honor the actions of Topeka, Kansas in renaming their city to Google earlier this year.  Topeka took this action as a part of a competition Google sponsored, so now Google has returned the gesture. Or have they?  The entire action is a very elaborate April Fools joke, featuring a change to Google’s official sign, and the logo on their popular search engine website Google.com, which was probably the first change most noticed come 1 AM this morning.

A little tidbit I discovered, is that they even used “Topeka.com” to source back to Google.  Got hand it to the guys behind the world’s most popular search engine, when they pull a prank, they go all out, and do it with a charitable style.

Categories: PR Connection
  1. April 7, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    I think that the competition going on for naming the city after google is crazy! I can’t believe that people are getting so into it. I personally think that it is pretty funny. That is really interesting that they even had “Topeka.com” source back to google. The fact that google changed this last week didn’t through me off personally, but I am sure that there were several confused people when they clicked on google. I’m sure they even got some phone calls from different people. PR reps, get ready, because I am sure they had to explain themselves a few times on April fools day! Anyways, nice post!

  2. April 9, 2010 at 11:36 am

    This was pretty hilarious. When people went to Google on April Fool’s Day and saw that it said Topeka, they must have been so lost. Usually when there is an odd image on Google, I instinctively click on it and expect the description to explain why that image is there on that specific day. When I clicked on Topeka, it linked to what looked like an official press release or announcement. It looked very believable so I’m sure that there were those who weren’t aware that it was April Fool’s Day and found it strange but probably believed it. Hopefully they found out that they were an April Fool. Of course there were those that didn’t sign on to Google on April 1 and totally missed out on the fun.

  3. echertha
    April 20, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    I thought this was so so funny!
    I did not know anything about it until it was mentioned in class bu Professor Nixon! I do not think I actually thought it was true thought because I knew it was April 1st and very aware of everyone trying to trick everybody. I did think this was a funny joke, and I know a lot of people that fell for it! It was creative and fun for a huge company to get into the spirit and participate in the April Fools fun!
    I think this was an awesome post, and enjoyed all the reactions this small joke brought about!

  1. April 2, 2010 at 8:35 pm
  2. April 7, 2010 at 3:06 pm
  3. April 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Leave a Reply

